This Old Quilt

I love this quilt. How could I not? It is bright, cheery – the perfect outdoor blanket.

IMG_2707 copy

It is the perfect spot for throwing fits.

IMG_2714 copy

It is perfect for enjoying snacks with your big sister.

IMG_2721 copy

This quilt has been around for as long as I can remember. I am told it is from my grandma, or dad’s side of the family. I don’t remember this being at her house when I was growing up, but maybe it came from some of her family, or maybe dad swiped it before I came around. Who knows. What I do know is that my parents always used it to protect furniture while moving. I never understood why they used that quilt, because in my mind, it was too pretty for that.

Imagine my excitement when they used it to help us move furniture into our very first house. It was left in the garage with the instructions “you can just trash it.” TRASH IT?!?! You have got to be crazy. I mean, sure, it was tattered and had absolutely no binding left, but in my mind, it was still perfect. And if it were big enough, it would be on my bed.

I decided it was my job to restore it to its former glory. This was about 3 years ago and I was in the early, early, early stages of learning how to make my sewing machine function. I thought sewing new bias tape around the edges would be easy. It wasn’t. But I did it. And it looks terrible, don’t stare too close. I love it regardless.

**side note – I can now sew bias tape or binding around blankets/quilts without it looking like poop. It isn’t my favorite way to finish a blanket, but it is now on the “can do” list. Hoorah!**

This is my favorite fabric on it (you can see tatters, too.)IMG_2711 copy
I think white/blue fabric is so sweet.  I wish I could buy yards and yards of it.  It would make a great dress for Thing 1 (that’s the girl.)  It feels European (well, Scandinavian) to me.  If my whole house could be that style, it would be glorious. 

 

IMG_2709 copy
So glad my parents were ready to get rid of this. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure, right?

This entry was posted in Nostalgia, Quilt, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

