KCWC – Day 4

Upcycled clothing must be my thing this week.  A dress for Thing 1 from a ridiculously cute t-shirt.  I have had this shirt for almost 3 years now.  I bought it at Goodwill back when I first discovered Lil Blue Boo and I was going to make a fun pieced dress out of it, but I never did.  I couldn’t stand to cut up the cute clouds.  In my mind, it was paired with this yellow striped tank top that didn’t quite fit me right after having my first baby.

Fast forward a couple of years and I finally got the swift kick in the pants to do something with it.  First, I tried the shirt on her, just to make sure that it didn’t almost fit her as a regular shirt.  She was not a fan of it, threw a fit, and told me that she did not like it, that thunder clouds were mean.  But then I told her I was going to make it into a dress and her tune changed.  Such is life with a 3.5 year old.  ::sigh::
KCWC - Day 4 Before
I based the dress on this dress from Make It and Love It.  I did not a-line it as much (because I couldn’t) and did a few pleats at the top instead of ruffling it (again, I couldn’t, not enough fabric.)
KCWC - Day 4
Learning how to do the 5 strand braid was way fun!  Like I want to keep braiding.  I have seen braided upcycled rugs and I totally think I could do that with this.  The part I hate about my particular one, is that to get the length necessary, I had to cut it around the shirt instead of lengthwise, so it has a side seem hiding right up front.  Oh well.  Live and learn.

I wasn’t able to get a picture of her wearing it. The end of today did not turn out as I thought it would. Impromptu dinner at my parents, picking up a newly fixed lawnmower, mixed with leaving town for a wedding = not getting picture/Day 5 not happening. Looks like I’ll have to make up for it next week. I look forward to seeing everyone else’s though!

This entry was posted in Dress, Repurposing, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KCWC – Day 4

  1. Amber @ Rowan & Oak says:

    Cute idea! Love the braid!!

Leave a Reply

